Honors Program

Program Mission

The mission of the Honors Program is to bring Bethany’s best students together in an interdisciplinary class setting where they can push themselves and one another in an academic community of equally prepared, motivated, focused, curious learners.


DownloadHonors Program Brochure

Why You Should Apply

You will sharpen your critical thinking skills and be a member of an active and stimulating community. You will be challenged to perform your very best. You will be invited to engage with important ideas in a world that needs you.

Additionally, members of the Honors Program will enjoy the following privileges:

  • An annual Honors scholarship of at least $1000, subject to merit increases as the annual budget allows.
  • Funds available on a competitive basis to subsidize participation in academic conferences.
  • Priority in enrollment – you’ll register for courses before all other students.
  • An overload fee waiver during the semesters you are taking Honors courses.
  • Faculty-length borrowing privileges at the library (that is, longer lending time).

Your Honors status will be included on your diploma. This communicates your customized, challenging coursework to future employers, graduate programs, and professional schools. Your Honors coursework will also mean you’ll work closely with faculty across the disciplines – faculty who will not only help you explore diverse, integrated professional options but also direct you to unusual academic and research opportunities and provide you with crucial support and recommendations in the graduate school and job application process.

Application Criteria & Program Courses

See the Academic Catalog for application criteria and program courses.


Photo of Kristin Van Tassel , Ph. D.

Kristin Van Tassel, Ph. D.

Chair of English Department Chair of Honors ProgramAssociate Professor of English
Office Department of English Presser Hall 9 Phone: (785) 227-3380, ext. 8129 Read Biography
Return to top.
Photo of Greg LeGault , M.F.A.

Greg LeGault, M.F.A.

Chair of Theatre Department Associate Professor of Theatre
Office Department of Communication & Theatre Arts Presser Hall 6 Phone: (785)227-3380, ext. 8257 Work Fax: (785) 227-2860 Read Biography
Return to top.
Photo of Loranelle Lockyear , Ph.D.

Loranelle Lockyear, Ph.D.

Milfred Riddle McKeown Distinguished Professor of Science Chair of Chemistry DepartmentProfessor of Chemistry
Office Department of Biology & Chemistry Nelson Science Center 213 Phone: (785) 227-3380, ext. 8152 Read Biography
Return to top.
Photo of Adam Pryor , Ph.D.

Adam Pryor, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Religion
Office Department of Religion & Philosophy Social Science Center 24
Return to top.

News All News