335 East Swensson Street | Lindsborg, Kansas 67456|admissions@bethanylb.edu

Student receives 2009 Teacher of Promise Award

Bethany College junior Jennifer Desbien, Lindsborg, Kan., has been selected for the Kansas State Department of Education’s Teacher of Promise award. Desbien was recognized with Bethany College’s other recipient, Elisabeth Sharp, Pleinfeld, Germany, at the Kansas Teacher of the Year banquet on Nov. 21 in Wichita.

The Teachers of Promise award is one of several honors presented by the Kansas State Department of Education to help recruit and retain the best Kansas teachers for Kansas children.

Desbien and Sharp were honored as two of Bethany’s brightest prospective teachers who have demonstrated professional commitment, achievement and leadership while in their teacher preparation programs. They will also attend and participate in a staff development workshop conducted by the current Kansas Teacher of the Year Cindy Couchman, a Lindsborg resident.

Assistant Professor Eric Hyler, education department chair, stated that he was “proud to identify two of Bethany College’s many outstanding, hard working future teachers.”

Kansas colleges and universities may each nominate two student teachers for this award. Bethany’s winners were chosen from a pool of nominees selected by members of the Bethany College Education Department. Those who were nominated best exemplify ability in the following areas: classroom environment, professionalism, instructional abilities and planning and preparation.

Desbien is majoring in elementary education while Sharp majors in elementary education and psychology.

Desbien and Sharp will begin student teaching in the fall of 2010. Their placement has yet to be determined.

December 11th, 2009|