335 East Swensson Street | Lindsborg, Kansas 67456|admissions@bethanylb.edu

Choir to perform at Bethany Lutheran Church

The 2009-2010 Bethany Choir

The 2009-2010 Bethany Choir

The Bethany Choir will perform at Bethany Lutheran Church in Lindsborg, Kan., on February 14.

The choir, directed by Associate Professor of Music Daniel Mahraun, D.M.A., will provide worship music during both services at 8 and 10:30 a.m. in the sanctuary of the Bethany Lutheran Church, 320 N. Main Street in Lindsborg. The Bethany Choir will perform a varied repertoire of choral music.

The 26 students who sing in the Bethany Choir are selected by audition, and represent nearly all disciplines on campus.

Founded in February 1935 by Dr. Hagbard Brase to commemorate the 250th anniversary of the birth of Johann Sebastian Bach, the choir has performed over 500 concerts in 29 states and four European countries, including its New York debut at Alice Tully Hall under Dr. Elmer Copley. It performed in Germany and Sweden as part of its sixth European tour in 2008. The Bethany Choir celebrates its 75th Anniversary this season with a program of music by Swedish composers and arrangers on April 25.

During the school year, the choir is heard on campus in Jultide at Bethany and as part of the internationally-known Messiah Festival held each spring during Holy Week.

Bethany Choir members are:

  • Sean Boller, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • Skylar Bosco, Salina, Kan.
  • Braden Bruntzel, Jamestown, Kan.
  • Jenna Clarke, Great Bend, Kan.
  • Thomas DeWitt, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • Olivia Fabrizius, WaKeeney, Kan.
  • Kaleb Feist, Salina, Kan.
  • Julee Freeman, Thornton, Colo.
  • Lindsay Grivetti, Longmont, Colo.
  • Taylor Hall, Longmont, Colo.
  • Chock Hefner, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • Chelsea Kenyon, Iola, Kan.
  • Meghan Klaassen, Marquette, Kan.
  • Michael Klaassen, Marquette, Kan.
  • Sam Klaassen, Marquette, Kan.
  • Carlotta Meeker, Andover, Kan.
  • Molly Mumm, Brighton, Colo.
  • Richard Napierkowski, Granbury, Texas
  • Matthew Payor, Franklin Park, N.J.
  • Joanna Roberts, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • Jackie Rogers, Iola, Kan.
  • Rebecca Rose, Kiowa, Kan.
  • Rae Sanders, Haysville, Kan.
  • Jordan Smith, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • Suzanna Swenson, Smolan, Kan.
  • Trenton Terrill, Smith Center, Kan.
February 5th, 2010|