Bethany Choir 2009-10The Bethany Choir will perform at Immanuel Lutheran Church (1700 Westport Road) in Kansas City, Mo., on April 18. Joined by the Chamber Choir and directed by Associate Professor of Music Daniel Mahraun, D.M.A., the choir will provide music for worship services at 8:15 a.m. and 10:30 a.m. with a brief concert between services. The Bethany Choir will sing a varied repertoire of choral music. The 26 students who sing in the Bethany Choir are selected by audition, and represent nearly all disciplines on campus. Of these students, 15 also participate in the Bethany College Chamber Choir. Founded in February 1935 by Dr. Hagbard Brase to commemorate the 250th anniversary of the birth of Johann Sebastian Bach, the choir has performed over 500 concerts in 29 states and four European countries, including its New York debut at Alice Tully Hall under Dr. Elmer Copley. It performed in Germany and Sweden as part of its sixth European tour in 2008.

The Bethany Choir celebrates its 75th Anniversary this season with a program of music by Swedish composers and arrangers on April 25. During the school year, the choir is heard on campus in Jultide at Bethany and as part of the internationally-known Messiah Festival held each spring during Holy Week.

Bethany Choir members are (* denotes chamber choir members):

  • *Molly Mumm, Brighton, Colo.
  • *Lindsay Grivetti, Longmont, Colo.
  • Taylor Hall, Longmont, Colo.
  • Julee Freeman, Thornton, Colo.
  • Carlotta Meeker, Andover, Kan.
  • Jenna Clarke, Great Bend, Kan.
  • *Rae Sanders, Haysville, Kan.
  • *Chelsea Kenyon, Iola, Kan.
  • Jackie Rogers, Iola, Kan.
  • Braden Bruntzel, Jamestown, Kan.
  • *Rebecca Rose, Kiowa, Kan.
  • *Sean Boller, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • Thomas DeWitt, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • *Chock Hefner, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • *Joanna Roberts, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • Jordan Smith, Lindsborg, Kan.
  • *Meghan Klaassen, Marquette, Kan.
  • *Michael Klaassen, Marquette, Kan.
  • Sam Klaassen, Marquette, Kan.
  • Skylar Bosco, Salina, Kan.
  • *Kaleb Feist, Salina, Kan.
  • *Suzanna Swenson, Smolan, Kan.
  • *Trenton Terrill, Smith Center, Kan.
  • Olivia Fabrizius, WaKeeney, Kan.
  • *Matthew Payor, Franklin Park, N.J.
  • *Richard Napierkowski, Granbury, Texas