335 East Swensson Street | Lindsborg, Kansas 67456|admissions@bethanylb.edu

Lewis honored with Bethany’s Mortvedt award

Linda Lewis Bethany College Professor of English Linda Lewis was recently honored with the 2009-2010 Mortvedt Award for Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership. The Mortvedt Award is named for Robert Mortvedt, Bethany’s president from 1953 to 1958. Winners are nominated by their students and colleagues. The award includes a $1,000 individual grant and a $500 grant for the purchase of books or other educational materials. The first person to win this award and the first faculty member to win the award twice, Lewis “challenges herself in taking on courses which she had not taught before,” Bethany College Provost Eugene Bales remarked during the award presentation on May 20. Lewis is an active member of the Faculty Senate and serves as the academic coordinator for the Pearson Scholar Committee. She organized this year’s Honors Symposium and currently works as the final editor of Bethany’s self study for the Higher Learning Commission.

May 27th, 2010|

Bouza, Hefner honored with senior respect awards

Rachel Bouza and Charles “Chock” Hefner are the 2010 recipients of the Bethany College Spencer Bartlett Senior Respect Awards. The winners were announced at the May 12 Bethany College academic honors banquet. Bouza and Hefner received bachelor’s degrees from Bethany College May 23. Bouza is the daughter of Larry and Ginger Bouza, Tonganoxie, Kan. She majored in economics and international management and was a member of the Bethany College Honors Program.

May 24th, 2010|

Bethany graduates class of 2010

On May 23, Bethany College honored 99 students who earned Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Music, Bachelor of Music Education and Bachelor of Social Work degrees from the college during the 2009-2010 academic year. Summer, fall, interterm and spring graduates for 2009-2010 were honored during baccalaureate worship and commencement ceremonies on campus. Ralph H. Wagoner, president of Lutheran Educational Conference of North America (LECNA), addressed the graduating class of 2010 during the commencement ceremony. The Rev. Rachel Morey, a Bethany alumna, preached during baccalaureate worship.

May 24th, 2010|

Bouza selected as senior speaker for Bethany’s commencement

Rachel Bouza Rachel Bouza, Tonganoxie, Kan., has been selected to represent the graduating class of 2010 as the senior speaker at Bethany College commencement. In her speech, Bouza will reflect on the unique experience Bethany has provided both her and her fellow graduates and how that experience will empower the class of 2010 as they move forward into the world. Bouza is majoring in business-economics and international business management. This summer, she plans to work at Nebraska Lutheran Outdoor Ministries camps. In the future, she hopes to work in marketing or finance for an international corporation.

May 20th, 2010|

John Murphy honored with teaching award at Bethany

John Murphy John Murphy, professor of mathematics, is the 2009-10 recipient of the Donna Meredith Humphreys Award for Teaching at Bethany College. Murphy was nominated for the award by his students. “One student notes,” said Bethany College Provost Eugene Bales, “there has never been a time where he hasn’t dropped whatever he was doing to help – even with evening phone calls at home.” Murphy also revitalized the Von Neumann Society, which fosters leadership and intellectual community. His diligence to the students of Bethany College along with his unexpected sense of humor caused another nominee to write, “I will most definitely be carrying a model in my head of Professor Murphy’s teaching when I begin a teaching career of my own. He has shown me how to be there for students and how to challenge students but still allow them, and help them, to succeed.”

May 18th, 2010|

Associate professor of music Doug Talbott retires

Doug Talbott Associate Professor of Music Doug Talbott has decided to retire at the end of this academic year. Since 2001, he has coordinated the Secondary Music Education Program and the Instrumental Music Program at Bethany. Talbott directs the symphonic band, jazz ensemble and Blue Dozen pep bad. He also coaches the brass ensemble, Dixieland band and woodwind quintet. Within the Lindsborg community, he directs the Adult Choir at Trinity United Methodist Church and the Lindsborg Community Concert Band. Bethany and Lindsborg communities celebrated Talbott during his final concert in Presser Hall on May 11. Alumni, faculty, staff, friends and family honored Talbott’s service to Bethany through attendance and applause during the concert.

May 17th, 2010|

Castro opens senior art exhibition at Bethany

“Just Keep Swimming,” Nancy Castro Bethany College senior artist Nancy Castro, Costa Mesa, Calif., will exhibit at the Mingenback Art Center fromMay 20-24. A reception will be held May 22 from 2-4 p.m. with a gallery talk by Castro at 2:30 pm. This exhibition and reception is free and open to the public. Castro is a studio art major with a concentration in drawing. Her exhibition is a collection of drawings based on imagery found in nature. Ceramics, jewelry, sculpture and printmaking will also be shown in her exhibition.

May 17th, 2010|

Students awarded top scholarships at Bethany

Bethany College is proud to announce the recipients of its Bethanian Scholarships, the college’s highest academic merit scholarships. “This year’s competition for the Bethanian Scholarships was the largest the college has ever experienced. The quality of applicants exceeded all expectations. At Bethany, we value motivated students who strive to achieve the best, so we are proud to honor these four recipients with our top scholarship,” said Tricia Hawk, dean of recruitment and marketing at Bethany.

May 17th, 2010|

Bethany will recognize seven outstanding alumni

On May 22, Bethany College will honor seven outstanding alumni at its annual Alumni Recognition Banquet. Marylen Anderson, Brent Mai and Mark Schupbach will be honored with the Alumni Award of Merit, Bethany’s highest alumni honor. Mary Ellen Wade will be presented with the Distinguished Graduate Award. The Gold Award, given to a graduate of the last two decades, will be given to Roper DeGarmo. Finally, the Reverend Harold Nilsson and Shirley Nilsson will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The banquet will begin at 5:30 p.m. in Pihlblad Memorial Union. Tickets are $15 per person. Please contact the Bethany alumni office at (785) 227-3380, ext. 8270, to make a reservation.

May 17th, 2010|

Professor of mathematics John Murphy retires

Professor of Mathematics John Murphy, who has taught at Bethany since 1968, has decided to retire at the end of this academic year. Bethany College President Edward F. Leonard III thanked Professor Murphy during a campus reception on May 13. During the gathering, he said, “Dr. Murphy will be missed in the classroom and in the Bethany community. His unique humor and teaching abilities have been appreciated by all on campus for 40 years.” Murphy’s presence in the lives of Bethany students has been constant for more than four decades. He has been awarded the Bethany College Mortvedt Award for Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership and served as the mathematics and physics department chair. Murphy coached tennis for seven years and is a founding member of the Central Kansas Conservancy. He is also this year’s recipient of the Donna Meredith Humphreys Award for Teaching.

May 14th, 2010|