335 East Swensson Street | Lindsborg, Kansas 67456|admissions@bethanylb.edu

Lewis honored with Bethany’s Mortvedt award

Linda Lewis

Linda Lewis

Bethany College Professor of English Linda Lewis was recently honored with the 2009-2010 Mortvedt Award for Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership.

The Mortvedt Award is named for Robert Mortvedt, Bethany’s president from 1953 to 1958. Winners are nominated by their students and colleagues. The award includes a $1,000 individual grant and a $500 grant for the purchase of books or other educational materials.

The first person to win this award and the first faculty member to win the award twice, Lewis “challenges herself in taking on courses which she had not taught before,” Bethany College Provost Eugene Bales remarked during the award presentation on May 20. Lewis is an active member of the Faculty Senate and serves as the academic coordinator for the Pearson Scholar Committee. She organized this year’s Honors Symposium and currently works as the final editor of Bethany’s self study for the Higher Learning Commission.

“She has done much, done it with excellence and grace, and with great consistency through many years,” Bales added.

A member of the faculty since 1987, Lewis received her Ph.D. at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, her M.A. from the University of Nebraska-Omaha and her B.A. from East Central State, Okla. She teaches British literature, composition and linguistics and is the author of a number of articles and three books.

May 27th, 2010|