335 East Swensson Street | Lindsborg, Kansas 67456|admissions@bethanylb.edu

Kansas Teachers of the Year present to Bethany students

On Thursday, April 25 the finalists for Kansas Teacher of the Year award presented a variety activities and educational insights to nearly 60 pre-service teaching candidates at Bethany College.

Presenters included Colleen Mitchell from Walnut Elementary School in Emporia, Laura Moyers from Anthony Elementary School in Leavenworth, Sue Commons from Baxter Springs High School, Sara Berblinger from Prairie Hills Middle School in Buhler, and Ramie Allison from Nelson Elementary School in Haysville.

Two other finalists, Judy Domke from Blue Valley School District and Scott Keltner from Eudora High School, were unable to attend due to prior commitments.  Dyane Smokorowski was in Washington, D.C. during that week, where she was recognized as a National Finalist for Teacher of the Year.

Each year a total of eight teachers throughout the state of Kansas are recognized as outstanding educators and honored at the Kansas Teacher of the Year Banquet held in Wichita in November.  This year Assistant Professor of Secondary Education Gretchen Norland and teacher education candidate, Cari Nelson, served on the state selection committee as representatives of Bethany College.

May 9th, 2013|