335 East Swensson Street | Lindsborg, Kansas 67456|admissions@bethanylb.edu

Alumnus recognized for best audiobook in 2013

Cotton Smith alumnusBethany College alumnus Cotton Smith, class of 1962, won the Western Writers of America’s prestigious Spur Award for the best audiobook of 2013 for his novel, Ring of Fire. Published in audiobook format by Books-in-Motion, Ring of Fire is now being released in paperback.

Smith was honored with the presentation at the organization’s national convention in Las Vegas. The Spur Awards, given annually for distinguished writing about the American West, are among the oldest and most prestigious in American literature. Winners of the Spur Awards in previous years include Larry McMurtry for Lonesome Dove, Michael Blake for Dances With Wolves, Glendon Swarthout for The Shootist, and Tony Hillerman for Skinwalker.

This is Smith’s 17th western novel. Previously, he won two Spur Finalist recognitions for his work and the WWA Branding Award for contributions to the genre and the organization.

September 16th, 2013|