The Bethany College Music Department will present a “Night of All Star Jazz” on Thursday, October 6 at 7:30 p.m. in Presser Hall Auditorium.

Performing that night will be the Lindsborg Community All Star Band, directed by Doug Talbott and the Bethany College Jazz Band, directed by Sean Keasling.

“The All-Star Jazz Band will focus on the music libraries of Count Basie, Maynard Ferguson, and Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band,” Talbott said. “These three bands have been the major influences in the evolution of jazz.”

The all-star band is comprised of alumni, music educators and community musicians. They will be joined by selected high school students for one number and will perform a number with the Bethany Jazz Band.

Members of the all-star band include: Saxophone – Dr. David Higbee, Sean Keasling, Sarah Bricker ’08, Kaleb Feist ’13, Linda Ball ’91, Tony Josso; Trumpet – Quentin Breese ’00, Mike Dreier ’97, Trent Warbis, Brooke Olson, Shannon Everhart ’74,; Trombone – Bill Olson ’93, Dave Koetting, Lois Carlson ’61, Emily Bowen ’13, Joel Platter; Rhythm – Adam Keller, bass; Tyler Breneman ’16, piano; Ryan McClintock ’99, guitar; Brent Fales ’13, drums.

The concert is free and open to the public. Refreshments will be served after in the lobby.