The Kansas Senate and House of Representatives honored Bethany College by adopting a resolution that commemorated the college’s 135 years of education service to the state of Kansas.

House Resolution No. 6024 was introduced and read on the House floor by Representatives Steven Johnson, R-Assaria, and Susan Concannon, R-Beloit, and a Bethany College alumna. Senator Richard Wilborn, R-McPherson, introduced Senate Resolution No. 1733. The resolution was read on both floors of the Kansas Legislature on Tuesday, March 28.

The resolutions commemorated Bethany’s 135th anniversary and outlined the college’s history and impact on the state and the City of Lindsborg. It detailed Bethany’s cultural impact through the traditional presentation of “Messiah” every year since 1881 and its location in Lindsborg, calling it the “Fine Arts and Crafts Capital of Kansas.” The resolution also noted Bethany’s economic impact on the surrounding region.

“(Bethany’s) more than 700 students from 38 states and countries, and the more than 100 full-time faculty and staff and nearly 70 part-time faculty and staff have an impact on the regional economy of more than $15 million,” the resolution stated.

Alumni contributions to the state in areas of medicine, education, business and leadership, were also noted in the resolution. “There are more than 4,500 Bethany College alumni who live in Kansas, including more than 1,300 who reside in McPherson and Saline counties.”

Several Bethany alumni were present and allowed on the floor of the House and Senate to see the adoption of the resolutions. Additionally, Bethany President William Jones opened the House session by presenting the daily prayer.

The resolution conclude that the legislators are “honored to offer Bethany College sincere congratulations and wish the college many more successful years.”

Pictured above from left: Ron Paulseen ’71; Karma Tidemann ’72; Grant Tidemann, ’70; David Earle, vice president of institutional advancement; Art Newcomer ’55; Nelson Newcomer ’65; Anita Tidemann; Corey Peterson ’84, chair of Bethany Board of Directors; Bethany President Will Jones.