Bethany College will recognize Athletic Hall of Honor inductees, Alumni Co-Coaches of the Year, and the Bethany Athletic Association Award of Merit recipients during the Athletic Awards Luncheon on Sunday, October 14 in Lindquist Hall on Bethany College campus.

“Bethany College is known for producing successful professionals who love God and love people,” President Will Jones said. “The Bethany Athletic Hall of Honor inductees are terrific examples talented alumni exemplifying our core value of servant leadership by engaging in their communities.”

The Athletic Hall of Honor gives recognition to individuals whose performance on the athletic field during their time at Bethany College was noteworthy and exemplary of high standards for which Bethany College athletics historically have been known. The five alumni who were inducted into the Athletic Hall of Honor are Sonja Kiseljak-Dusenbury ’01, Nathan Hiebert ’03, Trevor Rolfs ’96, Keith Boutte ’94, and Jessica Becker ’09.

Sonja Kiseljak-Dusenbury ’01, is the director of Health and Wellness Services at Rancho Los Amigos National Rehabilitation Center, where she has been serving since November 2016.  While a student athlete at Bethany, Sonja earned many awards and accolades. Sonja earned her doctorate in physical therapy at Loma Linda University, California.

Nathan Hiebert ’03, graduated from Bethany with a BA in both Business Education and Economics-Business with a concentration in Finance and Management.  He was a member of the Bethany men’s basketball and was on the team that qualified for the 2000 NAIA National Tournament, and the 2003 National NAIA Runner-Up Team.  He has been the head girls’ basketball coach for the past 11 years.  His teams have qualified for the state tournament six times, finishing third three times.  Nathan and his wife, Lynette, have five children and live in Hillsboro, Kansas.

Trevor Rolfs ’96, is currently serving as the Athletic Director at Barton County Community College. He began playing collegiate basketball at Barton from 1991-93, before transferring to Bethany to finish his basketball career as a two-time All-KCAC guard under Coach Clair Oleen. Due to finishing his basketball eligibility, Trevor played wide receiver on the Swede football team, and he received All-Conference football honors that season.  He has been at Barton County since 2011. Barton Cougars placed third in the NJCAA NATYCA Cup standings in 2018, the highest in the history of the college. He and his wife, Kimberly (Strong) Rolfs ’96, live in Claflin, Kansas with their two children.

Keith Boutte’ ’94, graduated with a degree in Economics/Business with concentrations in Finance and Management. Keith successfully participated in football and track and field at Bethany.  In 1993, he received All-District 10 First Team Offense as a wide receiver, and KCAC All-Conference First Team Offense He worked in jobs in consumer finance and mortgage banking prior to answering a call to serve a fulfilling career in law enforcement.  While a student at Bethany, Keith met his wife, Jennifer, and they reside in Rowlett, Texas with their two children.

Jessica Becker ’09, who is the head track and field and cross country coach at University of the Southwest in Hobbs, New Mexico, is a cum laude graduate of Bethany majoring with a degree in PK-12 Health and Physical Education, and a degree in Physical Health and Wellness.  She became one of the college’s most decorated student-athletes, including the 2008 NAIA Indoor National Championship in the Shot Put, and was the 2009 NAIA Outdoor National Champion in the Shot Put. Prior to her current coaching job, she was Assistant Professor of Health, Physical Education and Athletic Training at Bethany and also was assistant track and field coach.

 Bobbi Lucas ’85, one of two 2018 Alumni Coaches of the Year, graduated with a BA in PE/Health K-12 Education.  She started coaching in 1986 at Southside Middle School in San Antonio, Texas where she coached volleyball, basketball and track for seventh and eighth grade girls. From 1994-1996, Bobbi taught and coached at Pat Neff Middle School in San Antonio, once again coaching volleyball, basketball and track for seventh and eighth grade girls. She then coached seventh and eighth grade girls and boys soccer (1997-2006), golf (1997-1998), and girls volleyball (1997-1999).  She also coached boys and girls tennis (1997-2006).  She currently teaches Health and PE at Kernodle Middle School in Greensboro, North Carolina, and from 2006 until 2011 was the Athletic Director at Kernodle.

The Co-Alumni Coach of the Year, Clair Oleen ‘77, began as a two-year starter and captain of the Barton County Community College’s basketball team.  He joined the Bethany Swedes team, and earned All-KCAC, NAIA All District 10, and All-Lutheran honors nationally.  He was also the co-captain for the 1976-77 co-champion team and received the Most Valuable Swede award.  Clair went on to receive his Master’s degree in physical education from Kansas State. Oleen spent the next 12 years as the head coach of the Swedes women’s basketball program and then became the head men’s basketball coach holding that position for 24 years.  Oleen’s all-time career record is 541-487.  He was inducted into the Bethany Athletic Hall of Honor in 2000, and was recently honored with induction into the Barton County Community College Sports Hall of Fame.  Clair is married to Jerrine (Palmquist) Oleen, ’78, and they have two children and two grandchildren.

The Bethany Athletic Association Award of Merit recipient is Mike Lynam ’81, a native of Medicine Lodge, Kansas. While at Bethany, Mike was a member of the cross country and track programs under Dr. Jim Krob.  In his senior season, the Swedes won their only KCAC Cross Country championship.  Following graduation and a return to Lindsborg, Mike began working with Coach Krob to administer the Swede Invite in cross country and track.  Over the past 35 years, he has worked with many meets in various capacities including cross country starter, referee, umpire and clerk of the course. Mike is married to Lenora (Alfers) Lynam ’81, and they have two children.

The Athletic Hall of Honor Committee is A. John Pearson ‘59, Paul Mogenson, Ted Kessinger, Dr. Joyce Pigge, Warren Olsen ‘72, Erica Kruckenberg ‘96, Laura (Christopher) Moreno ’09, and Dane Pavlovich.