LINDSBORG, KAN., May 28 2019-Bethany College held an employee recognition luncheon on May 16 to celebrate the academic year and employee years of service. President Will Jones and Board of Directors Chair, Corey Peterson, thanked faculty and staff for their dedication and commitment to excellence. Faculty and staff celebrating an anniversary received a certificate and a blue Dala horse. Faculty recognized were Denise Carson, Chair of Wallerstedt Learning Center, and Director of Archives and Heritage Center (35 yrs); Ed Pogue, Chair of Digital Media Arts, and Professor of Art (20 yrs); Andrea Ring, Chair of Department of Psychology, and Associate Professor of Psychology (10 yrs); Marcus Hensel, Assistant Professor of English (5 yrs); Tyler Atkinson, Assistant Professor of Religion (5 yrs); Heather Morris, Assistant Professor Biology (5 yrs); and Duke Rogers, Associate Professor of Business and Economics (5 yrs).

Staff celebrated include, Clair Oleen, Director of Development (40 yrs); Frank Ballew, Director of Publications (20 yrs); Joshua Bieber, Director of Information Technology (5 yrs); Alisa Jones, Assistant to the President, and Donor Relations Coordinator (5 yrs); Shane Taylor, Head Men’s Soccer Coach (5 yrs); Amanda McLaughlin,  Associate Director of Financial Aid, and Veterans Affairs School Certifying Official (5 yrs); and Melissa Blake, Admissions Counselor (5 yrs).

The Mortvedt Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award was also given. Robert Mortvedt, president of Bethany College from 1953 to 1958, had a very distinguished career as a, English teacher, scholar, and an administrator.  His family endowed this award to emphasize quality of teaching, to encourage faculty in their pursuit of excellence, and to assist Bethany in nurturing an academic climate that fosters teaching at its best and enhances teaching as a profession.  The 2019 Mortvedt Award was given to Ed Pogue, Chair of Digital Media Arts and Professor of Art.

The Elbow Grease Award, a newer tradition, to recognize those who use extra “elbow grease” was passed on from previous recipient John Mullen, Chair of Religion and Philosophy; to Matt Pfannenstiel, Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid.

Bethany College, established by Swedish Lutheran immigrants in 1881, is a college of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The mission of Bethany College is to educate, develop, and challenge individuals to reach for truth and excellence as they lead lives of faith, learning, and service. Bethany connects its past, present, and future with distinctive initiatives like Swedes to Sweden, a free service-learning trip for the sophomore class to Sweden, and the Good Life Scholarship, presenting all local high school graduates with a four-year, full-tuition scholarship to the college. Bethany College is on the Web at and is located in Lindsborg, Kansas, the fine arts and crafts capital of the state.